Eight Michigan Schools Awarded National Blue Ribbon Recognition

September 30, 2014

LANSING - Eight Exemplary High Performing Schools in Michigan were recognized today as being National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2014 by the U.S. Department of Education.

"Michigan schools work diligently each year to create safe learning environments that promote student learning," said State Superintendent Mike Flanagan. "These eight exemplary schools deserve the credit and affirmation of the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities to achieve at higher levels."

The eight Michigan schools recognized are: 

  • Bemis Elementary School - Troy School District
  • Jamestown Elementary School - Hudsonville Public School District
  • Lakeshore Elementary School - West Ottawa Public School District
  • Martin Luther King Elementary School - Ann Arbor Public Schools
  • Musson Elementary School - Rochester Community School District
  • Voyager Elementary School - Howell Public Schools
  • Wattles Elementary School - Troy School District
  • Van Hoosen Middle School - Rochester Community School District

The U.S. Department of Education's National Blue Ribbon Schools program recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high school based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing the achievement gaps among student population groups.

The U.S Department of Education's awardees can be found here: